The East Rockaway Gull

For Students, by Students...

The East Rockaway Gull

The East Rockaway Gull


The best part of Rock Rivalry is...


Sorry, there was an error loading this poll.

Poetry: Allure Me Along
Poetry: "Allure Me Along"
Ava Grullon, Student Writer • February 19, 2024
Senior Spotlight: Gabby Martinez
Senior Spotlight: Gabby Martinez
Zoe Cerna, Student Writer • February 12, 2024
Six Delicious Super Bowl Snacks
Six Delicious Super Bowl Snacks
Zoe Moore, Student Writer • February 11, 2024
Did Holden Caulfield Kill John Lennon?
Did Holden Caulfield Kill John Lennon?
Sadie Scalfani, Student Writer • February 7, 2024

Book Review: Six of Crows

Book Review: Six of Crows

Six of Crows is a young adult fantasy novel written by Leigh Bardugo. The story includes the point of view of the six main characters. While published in 2015, it has maintained a lot of popularity.  Occurring in the same world as the Shadow and Bone trilogy, it takes place two years after the events in that trilogy. I suggest reading the Shadow and Bone trilogy beforehand if you don’t want the trilogy to be spoiled and so you understand the world better. 

Six of Crows follows criminal prodigy, Kaz Brekker, who’s offered a chance to accomplish a deadly heist. However, he can’t pull it off alone. To stand a chance of pulling off this heist he’s going to need…

“A convict with a thirst for revenge

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager

A runaway with a privileged past

A spy known as the Wraith

A Heartender using her magic to survive the slums

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.”

This crew doesn’t understand how much this heist matters, however. The Crows stand between the world and its destruction. 

I read this duology recently and gained a strong affection for the story. It entails lots of action and has you questioning everything. One moment, you think something has gone awry with the plan. Next, you discover Kaz has tricks hidden up his sleeve and deals with the situation effectively. The continuous plot twists consistently had me on the edge of my seat.

I’ve also gotten deeply attached to the characters themselves, as they are written with extensive detail and have lots of depth to their character. You learn why certain characters are the way they are. Another reason I’ve grown so attached to these characters is the fact that they aren’t perfect people. Bardugo writes them in a way that makes them feel more human or alive. 

Once you’ve read the first book then you need to read the last one, Crooked Kingdom, which I adore just as much. After, reading Crooked Kingdom, you must watch the show. The show is a mixture of the Six of Crows duology and the Shadow and Bone trilogy. The storyline in the show differs from the books though as the events from these books took place at different times. Yet I still love the show because I love the characters. 

Six of Crows has become one of my all-time favorite series. It sent me through a whirlwind of emotions. And I feel as if I will always remember this duology. It might as well have changed my life. So, if you couldn’t already tell, I treasure this duology and will continuously urge others to read it.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Keira Burress, Student Writer
My name is Keira Burress. I’m a freshman and it’s my first year writing for The Gull. I mostly write book review articles in the hopes of inspiring people to read more. I love my two German Shepherds. When I’m not spending time with them, I can be found reading or writing. One day I hope to be a bestselling author of fictional books where people can find comfort in my stories like how I’ve found comfort in others.

Comments (0)

All The East Rockaway Gull Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *